NSW and VIC book spots in Blind Final


The highly anticipated final round Blind Cricket match between Victoria and South Australia determined who will play New South Wales in the 2018 NCIC Blind Cricket Grand Final tomorrow. Batting first, Daniel Pritchard (19) and Steve Obeid (36) got Victoria off to a solid start before both being run out. Chris Ballie then came to the crease as he smashed 50 (39). To finish off their innings, Brendan Spencer sent balls to all parts of the field in his innings of 46 (32). From their twenty overs, Victoria set 5/224 for South Australia to chase. With the in form Stephen Palmer and Mark Haskett opening the batting for South Australia, even with 5/224 on the board, Victoria would need to do damage early to restrict the South Australian’s. The early wicket of Haskett (7) was vital for the Victorians however, Palmer looked dangerous again and finished out on 99, falling one short of his fifth tournament century, and once again led his troops to a crucial victory finishing 5/235. Though South Australia won their final game and finished equal on points with Victoria, Victoria had a higher percentage meaning that they will play New South Wales in tomorrows NCIC Blind Grand Final.

In the match between New South Wales and Queensland, New South Wales had a comfortable win, chasing down Queensland’s 5/170 (20) within 16 overs, New South Wales finishing 1/173 (16). Lindsay Heaven the star in that match, making 70 (52). With this win, for the first time in thirty three years, New South Wales went through the Blind Competition undefeated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.